PDA

View Full Version : Business PhD's for development?

best_laid_plans
08-25-2007, 01:42 AM
Dear folks,

I am planning to apply to a bunch of econ phd programs this year. I will be aiming high (top 20), as I have been informed that I am almost certain to be accepted at my present school (which has a top-15 econ dept).

My chief research interest is in development economics. As a researcher, I would hope to be able to produce a personally satisfying mix of theoretic and empirical work. I am also interested in environment, institutions, IO. I would hope to end up as faculty at a research university, and hopefully consulting for places like the WB.

Given this background, my question is: Should I also consider business PhD programs? Would such a program allow me to focus on my interests?

I doubt business schools would have faculty with much interest in development. Would this be a major problem?

Any business schools in particular that you would recommend to me?

many thanks,
best_laid_plans

buckykatt
08-25-2007, 04:59 PM
At first this seemed like an off-the-wall idea to me. But I can see studying development as part of a business Ph.D. program if you approach it from the angle of looking at how NGOs and governments function in the development context...

falco123456
08-25-2007, 05:55 PM
I'd have a hard time imagining you would find faculty with similar interests. However, perhaps it would be possible to coordinate with the econ department and include some graduate level development courses? It may be difficult to find a job, but you could be creating a niche for yourself?

It's certainly an interesting thought.

Karina 07
08-25-2007, 08:08 PM
Maybe talk with professors at some of these Business Ph.D. programs that you're thinking of applying to before actually applying, lest you go through the whole application process and start there only to find out it's no good for you.