PDA

View Full Version : Future Plans

GiantsMan
08-29-2007, 03:08 AM
Hello Everyone

I have heard great things regarding this site so I hope to get some advice for myself. Let me tell you all a little about myself.

I graduated in 2006 from Boston College with a degree in History. While at BC I took some finance classes in order to prepare myself for the "Real World". However, during the end of my tenure at BC I started to really like Economics and Finance but kept sweeping it under the rug. Now that I have been working for over a year I find myself reading articles and caring a lot about the academic world. So much so that I want to do what is needed to apply for either a PhD in Economics or Finance, since I am a fan of financial economics. Things such as asset pricing, corporate finance (M&A), investing in general, etc.

My problem these are the only classes I have taken: intro to econ, statistics, investments, corporate finance, money and banking, and calc I & II. Now I work in RI with Fidelity Investments and my only options for schools at night is University of Rhode Island (what is the respect of this school?). My question is what will I need to do to realistically get into a top 50 econ program so I can teach at one? I rather get into a top 20 and that is the attitude I will be taking towards this goal, but I am realistic.

So if people can tell me what I can do during the next 2-3 years t o realize this it would be great. The more specific the bett

buckykatt
08-29-2007, 03:23 AM
Well, one comment right off the bat: if you want to teach at a top 50 program, you probably need to aim a bit higher with the program you attend for your Ph.D. Take a look at the faculty listings at some of the schools you think you might like to teach at and note where the professors got their Ph.D.s...

GiantsMan
08-29-2007, 03:42 AM
Great advice and I have done that. Any advice on how to get there.

scheng75
08-29-2007, 06:24 AM