PDA

View Full Version : Realistic comments please! Do I aim too high?

pippo
08-29-2007, 05:18 PM
Hi guys, please evaluate my profile.

PROFILE:

Type of Grad: Currently, I am doing a MA in econ at a relatively small university in the US.
Grad GPA: 3.75
GRE: Q:800/V:550/AWA:4.0
Math Courses: Elementary linear algebra(A), Real analysis1(A), PDE(A), Math stat (A), Adv Calc1 (currently)
Econ Courses: Undergrad/Grad econometrics(A/B), Grad Micro(A-), Grad Macro(A-), Time series(B+), Financial market(B+)
Relevant Finance Courses: Financial Management(A-)
Letters of Recommendation: 2 excellent from my advisor and Real Analysis prof and 1 good from Econ prof.
Research Experience: Apparently, none
Teaching Experience: lots of math and econ tutoring
SOP: Pretty decent but nothing special, though
Other: I am an international student and I am interested in financial economics. I also would like to apply to a Ph.D in Finance for fall 2008.

What kind of schools do you guys think I have a good chance to get in?
Are top 20 schools (in econ) too high for me? What about the finance programs?

Appreciate every comment!
Thanks

apropos
08-29-2007, 07:13 PM
Your profile looks good. I think you have a good shot at getting into Economics programs that are ranked 20-60 on usnews, and a fair, but probably noticeably less certain shot, at getting into top 20 schools. This is just a guess, I know there are many students with profiles similar to yours in the top 60-20 departments, but I don't know much about the finance programs or the top 20 econ programs.

I would say you should do this:

1. Apply to a wide range of programs in terms of rankings and in terms of fields. That is, I think it might be worth to send some applications to econ and some applications to finance programs.