PDA

View Full Version : Verbal 300 in GER

econyun
09-04-2007, 04:13 AM
Hello All,
I would like to ask whether it does matter if I got 300 in verbal and 800 in Math part for my application to Econ phd ?

studentecon
09-04-2007, 04:34 AM
Hello All,
I would like to ask whether it does matter if I got 300 in verbal and 800 in Math part for my application to Econ phd ?

It does

TopDog
09-04-2007, 04:54 AM
the verbal part doesn't matter match but when it gets so low then it sends red signals. i also wonder how you propose to do it. the math questions are also in english so unless you intentionally flunk the verbal to make a point or just bcos you think it's useless i don't see how you will get an 800q and 300v.

corpfin2006
09-04-2007, 05:24 AM
I also thought that the verbal part were useless, so I just skipped all the questions and got V320. My other scores, however, are Q800 and AWA6.0. On top of that, my degree is from England. So, do I have to re-take the GRE?!?!

TopDog
09-04-2007, 05:53 AM
I also thought that the verbal part were useless, so I just skipped all the questions and got V320. My other scores, however, are Q800 and AWA6.0. On top of that, my degree is from England. So, do I have to re-take the GRE?!?!

oh what a perfect score you could have had.just imagine 700v,800q, 6.0v. the admission process is all about impressions and you don't miss any opportunity to strut your feathers. i think the uselessness of the verbal is taken too far. but since you have already gotten your voluntary 320v, i'd suggest that you not risk your perfect quant score by retaking the test, given your u.k. education on top of things. others might think otherwise though...but i still wonder what you did that for.

corpfin2006
09-04-2007, 06:05 AM
I had two days to prepare the GRE, so I asked professors whether the verbal score counted for anything. All of them (top 5!) said no. But I guess they were being attentive to the fact that I studied in both the US and the UK.

SquareSquare