PDA

View Full Version : Just focus on financial aid firstly

zheng liang
09-08-2007, 08:14 AM
Hi everyone:
I am a chinese poor student, and I will pursue a PhD (economics) . so the first thing I care about is whether I can get financial aid such as fellowship, TA or RA. In addition, my proflie is fair not strong, so I will apply some low ranking schools, for example, below top50
My question is what kind of schoosl I can get moeny more easier? and to be generous to international students.
Thank you for any advice.

Epictetus
09-08-2007, 01:02 PM
Most schools that admit you will offer some financial aid, by which I mean tuition plus a stipend. Being admitted with no aid can essentially be considered not getting in, since most Americans can't afford graduate school tuition either. I'm not an expert on schools below 50 that offer decent aid, but as a rule, look for private (not state) universities which show evidence of trying to substantially improve their economics department, e.g. lots of recent hires from better places. That suggests they have money and will be willing to support students. For example, you might try George Mason University. Anyone else know some names?

SquareSquare
09-08-2007, 03:21 PM
Try Simon Fraser: Department of Economics, Simon Fraser University (http://www.sfu.ca/economics)

Bayern
09-08-2007, 03:45 PM
UC-Santa Cruz... if you are interested in Intl Trade or Finance.

YoungEconomist
09-08-2007, 05:58 PM
Being admitted with no aid can essentially be considered not getting in, since most Americans can't afford graduate school tuition either.