PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Here!

constrainedoptimizer
11-18-2007, 11:55 AM
Hello Everyone. This is my first post and I would like to echo the ongoing sentiments that "I wish I found this site earlier."

I've been lurking a while around until I had my account registered under an email server that was recognized.

I am fairly new to the game. My BA is in Geology and my brand new MA is in economics (with a monetary option), both from a California state college. I am in the pre-PhD preparation stage which is entailing me retaking all of my math for higher grades at UC Berkeley (my undergrad career is definitely nothing to write home about, but I graduated top of my economics graduate class as evidenced by my receipt of my departments only award).
My preparation currently involves:

-Calculus I
-Calculus II
-Muti-variable Calculus
-Linear Algebra and Differential Equations
-Proof Writing (prep class for Real Analysis)
-Real Analysis
-Mathematical Methods for Optimization (constrained & unconstrained optimization

-Intro to Probability
-Intro to Statistical Inference

My current hopeful destinations for graduate study are:

UC Davis (#1 choice)
UC Irvine
UC Santa Barbara

My probably areas of specialization include:

Monetary Economics
Econometrics
Financial Economics

I would like to combine all of these tools along with my undergrad studies in Geology into my goal of doing research in the area of Petroleum Economics, specifically in Petroleum Infrastructure Feasibility.

I look forward to interacting with all of you.

Chicunomics
11-18-2007, 12:13 PM
I don't know how low your undergrad grades were, but if you finished top of your class in economics, and are taking maths classes at UC Berkeley -- assuming you do well of course -- why don't you apply to UC Berkeley, SD, or LA?? You'd definitely have a shot, at least at the latter two, and if I were in your position I wouldn't want to die wondering about Berkeley!