PDA

View Full Version : Take a look

okcash
11-22-2007, 09:36 AM
Hey, I am from a development country. I got 99/120 in Toefl IBT and q790 v360 w3.0 in GRE. I was thinking to apply 10-50 in rankings. I am an external student of LSE BSc in Mathematics and Economics. I will be graduated with two undergrad diplomas. GPA 3.61/4.0 and LSE average is around 60/100 .
I have taken many math courses from LSE like Abstract Math, Adv Calculus, Adv Linear Algebra, Mathematical Economics, Adv Math Analysis, Optimisation Theory, Math of Financial Valuation. And I am now taking Adv Microeconomics from a well-known social choice theoretician. I think he will write a good LoR for me.
What chance would you give to me?

Thx.

thewhiterabbit
11-22-2007, 09:48 AM
Do you mean phd programs? If so, I think that most UK undergrads do a master's first since their degree is only three years. You might be able to bypass that, but it sounds like it would probably benefit you to do that first since you're competing with other UK folks.

I had a friend who did the LSE extension course bachelor's and is now doing the LSE MSc econ. That seems like a decent way to get to a good US PhD - that's what she's planning on at least. Plus since you're from a developing country you might have a better chance at aid - she had a full tuition scholarship plus 10,000 pounds to live on for the year, which is a pretty nice deal all considering.

okcash
11-22-2007, 09:24 PM