PDA

View Full Version : Masters Programs in Economics

charlesbronson
12-01-2007, 05:16 PM
Hi everyone,

I'm looking for a little bit of advice.

I have my undergraduate degree with a double major in Business & Economics. I am currently enrolled in an MBA program and will finish within the next year and a half. On the side, I am picking up math classes, and have concluded three semesters of Calculus and by the end of this summer will have finished Linear Algebra, Probability Theory, and possibly Differential Equations. I have taken the GRE and scored well, particularly in quantitative. Were I to go to full time phd study, I anticipate my reach schools to be Washington/Illinois, with target schools of Oregon, Colorado, Santa Cruz, etc. I don't have a strong enough profile for top 10 schools, obviously, but I have done enough to strengthen my profile to make me competitive in the 25-75 range.

I am taking the MBA program because for the time being I am geographically restricted - my passion is economics, but I am not in the vicinity of a graduate program in economics. Rather than waste away during this period of immobility, I decided to pick up the math classes I need for graduate study in Economics, as well as pick up the MBA, to open more doors in terms of careers, to improve myself personally, and to ensure a safety net in case I am never able to return to study in Economics.

I expect to be able to relocate for the fall of 2009, so I intend on applying for graduate study next fall. However, I am a little unsure on what to apply for.

I would like to pursue the doctorate degree. However, I am not positive that I would want to end up purely in an academic role, and therefore the degree may not be necessary. If that is the case, I would prefer to merely work towards the masters degree. This is where my several questions come in.