PDA

View Full Version : PhD admission chances in the fields of econometrics and/or finance

Profgif
01-30-2008, 08:37 PM
I was wondering which field may be easier to get into: econometrics (time series and forecasting/financial econometrics/volatility modelling) or financial economics (financial markets/efficiency/empirical finance/financial econometrics/others). I am a physicist in a Solvency and Risk Research group with some research work in financial time series (financial econometrics and econophysics; here is my profile (http://www.urch.com/forums/phd-economics/73478-please-evaluate-my-profile.html#post479330)). I have taken master (in economics) courses in financial economics, in statistics, and in econometrics (I also took undergraduate probability and measure theory), but I don't have neither a master in finance, nor a master in statistics. I am planning to apply to a (top 20) PhD in economics program in fall 2008, and I would prefer the field of time series analysis, but I wonder if I have an actual chance without the master in statistics. Any advice, opinion or statistics about in which field I could have higher admission chances would be much appreciated.

macroeconomicus
01-31-2008, 01:48 AM