PDA

View Full Version : Considering an Econ PhD

economist?
01-31-2008, 02:59 AM
Hi everyone. I'm considering going after an Econ PhD and am interested in some feedback on my prospects and any ideas on what I can do to improve my application. First a little about me:

-I went to a small liberal arts college (no econ PhD)--picked up an Economics minor during my Junior year and switched to the major during my Senior year.
-Overall undergrad GPA is 3.62.
-I graduated in 2005 been working at a private Public Finance firm since.
-The only math classes I've taken are Calc and Econ Stats.
-I don't have a research background, but should be able to get a pretty good rec letter from the chair of the Econ department at my undergrad.

I'm currently studying for the GRE to apply this fall (hopefully). Would a letter of rec from my employer be acceptable? Would it be helpful to pick up some additional math classes (Linear Algebra and Advanced Stats?) during the Fall semester as I'm applying? Is there anything else I can do to improve my application?

I'm also considering applying to Master's programs to get additional experience before applying to better PhD programs.

Thanks in advance for the help!

Luckykid
01-31-2008, 03:12 AM
Hi everyone. I'm considering going after an Econ PhD and am interested in some feedback on my prospects and any ideas on what I can do to improve my application. First a little about me:

-I went to a small liberal arts college (no econ PhD)--picked up an Economics minor during my Junior year and switched to the major during my Senior year.
-Overall undergrad GPA is 3.62.
-I graduated in 2005 been working at a private Public Finance firm since.
-The only math classes I've taken are Calc and Econ Stats.
-I don't have a research background, but should be able to get a pretty good rec letter from the chair of the Econ department at my undergrad.