PDA

View Full Version : Some advice needed on finishing my undergrad and applying

silverlegacy
02-04-2008, 06:07 PM
I'm a student at an average state university without a phd program in econ. My GPA is average (3.4 overall, 3.8 in Econ and 3.1 in Math), but improving every semester. My weakness is in math as you can see, but its also in the lack of math classes. I have about a year and a half left on my undergrad, and I am thinking about going an extra semester to take more math classes as I have only completed through diff eq. I should be able to improve my GPA in math by a few points. My university doesn't have a very strong econ program and am finding a lack of research available. I am wanting to get into a top 50 school, the higher the better of course, what would be some advice to help me with that goal? Thanks!

C152dude
02-04-2008, 06:13 PM
So you have completed Calc I-III, Linear Algebra, and Diff EQ? What math classes are you in this semester? What about for the summer?

You could always do a master's first.

silverlegacy
02-04-2008, 06:18 PM
Just calc I-II and diff eq this semester. This summer I have an internship. I plan on taking linear algebra and calc III next semester. I also have applied business statistics I and II.

C152dude
02-04-2008, 10:17 PM
Well, that means your math GPA is based on 2 math courses? Are business stats courses accepted as math credit at your school? You have plenty of opportunities to raise your math GPA. Further, an A in linear algebra means more than an A in calc I. I suggest you try hard in Diff EQ and look into online math courses while doing your internship.