02-13-2008, 04:06 PM
Hello,

I am a professor in a statistics department at a university with a
top 15 economics department. The purpose of this thread is to
get feedback from the readers of this message board regarding
a possible new Master's program we have been considering in our
department. Note: this program has not been approved by
our department, let alone the university. It is at the discussion
stage only and may end up going nowhere.

We are considering a one-year Master's degree that would be geared
toward people like you who want further preparation (beyond the
bachelor's degree) to pursue a PhD in areas such as
economics, finance and marketing. The course work for the
degree would involve:

1. A year of mathematical statistics at either the graduate
or undergraduate level.

2. A year of microeconomics at the graduate level.

3. A third year-long sequence in econometrics (grad level) or applied
statistics (grad level) or real analysis (undergrad or grad) or
stochastic processes (grad level) or measure theoretic probability
(grad level- obviously!).

We want to get some feeling for the level of interest in such a
program. Note that it is extremely unlikely that there would be
a tuition waver or stipend for students in this program.

While this program would be a source of revenue, we feel that such
a program would attract a higher caliber of students to our PhD
program. We hope that some students in the Master's program may
actually enjoy statistics [clap] and continue with our PhD
program. Admitted students to the PhD program in statistics
uniformly receive a fellowship in the first year and three
more years of TA or RA support (conditional on "adequate"
progress). This is pretty standard in many statistics departments.

Please do not send me any emails. All comments pro and con,
as well as questions should be posted here.

Thanks!

YoungEconomist
02-13-2008, 04:26 PM