PDA

View Full Version : Starting a thread for Brown applicants

nervouslywaiting
02-17-2008, 07:02 AM
I just feel like starting this thread. Couple of questions:

1. Usual one -- when should we expect to hear any news?

2. Anybody puts Brown as their top choice? I do -- especially after heard Duke rejection (I put both as my top choice).

3. Do you consider Brown Econ as 1st or 2nd tier program (or less)? I'm an international student; I always thought that Brown Econ, given its Ivy League status, is among the top tier program. But now I learned that it is not.

Anyway, I applied to Brown not because of their ranking. Because it's among the best in Devt Econ, offers an Econ/Population track, one of my undergrad profs graduated from there and he still has a strong contact with some Brown profs, and now my former Master's thesis (I got a Master's degree from the US) moved to the Watson Institute.

Olm
02-17-2008, 08:07 AM
(1) You can expect to hear before April 15th. Seriously now, we can only guess: schools vary their notifications year to year, so there is nothing you can do but wait. For example, NYU is releasing admits now, over two weeks ahead of last year; while Rochester is already a week slower than last year for their admits.

(2) I don't see many people on these forums applying to Brown, given its rank, and given its propensity for unfunded admits that ask for $50k in tuition...

(3) It all depends on how you define "tier", of course, but a degree from Brown is prestigious enough to get you a job wherever you want after graduation so long as your research is exceptional.

macroeconomicus
02-17-2008, 08:12 AM
Brown is a 3rd tierish program at best. It's certainly not a top 10 program. Neither it is comparable to second tier schools like say NYU, Columbia, or Michigan. Nonetheless, it's a very good department to study just that field. If you get in, consider yourself lucky. They get about 600 applications for about 20 seats.

dr_Shpak
02-17-2008, 11:21 AM