PDA

View Full Version : Career choices talk to me about Community College teaching

FoolishAmbition
02-19-2008, 08:17 PM
While a PhD in Econ was an idea I had, I have admitted that I'm more likely to suceed with a PhD in Education or D Ed or however it comes etc. It was great to talk that out here.

I also had wanted to get back into the classroom teaching ASAP rather than 11 yrs from now if I embarked on a PhD in Econ. I taught high school under a provisional license in a field I'm not qualified to teach! LOL A good teacher can teach anything they can teach themselves -- I did have some knowledge of the subject, I'm just not college level proficient.

So... For those aspiring to teach college and feel like going the Community College route -- what would be the best field to teach to ensure employablilty and future full time staff position?

I have a few options w my bachelors in Bus Adm. I could do 18 hours in Accounting (which might not be a good idea at 18 hours needed plus more later), marketing (which I hated), basic Bus Adm, Econ, Math Edu, Finacne if I could find graduate hours in it and maybe English as a Second language.

The easy way is Bus Adm, an MBA or close to it in a College Teaching MS plus 18 hours in "knowledge area". But I don't want to be like I am now, educated by not employable. Sadly, I do not have real life skills in the area of business, just theory and practical knowledge.