PDA

View Full Version : How much taxes?

Zymonick
02-19-2008, 10:04 PM
Hey everybody,

I just got an informal offer for admission and stating that I will receive a support of 30.000$ plus tuition and health care.

Now I read in the sticky thread that this will be reliable to taxes. Can anyone please tell me how much this would be approximately in the States?

I am asking here, because I need to make a decision about another offer soon and as an international student I have no knowledge about taxes in the States at all.

Thank you very much!

Andronicus
02-19-2008, 10:11 PM
What school? $30K sounds fantastic!

Taxes vary, but I think typically at lower income levels about a quarter to one third of your income goes to various taxes (Federal Income, Social Security, Medicare, State Income). Not all states have state income taxes, but those that don't often have higher sales taxes or property taxes.

Olm
02-19-2008, 10:15 PM
Taxes shouldn't be affecting your decision, as you will pay taxes on your support no matter where you go (in North America, at least). In fact, that should be one of the last things on your priority list. You should be worried about going to the highest ranked school as possible that has faculty members that specialize in the field you're interested in.

Let us know the schools you go into and the offers, and we'll be able to help you.

And just so you know, $30k is a metric ton of support - the average most schools offer is about half that.

dr_Shpak
02-19-2008, 11:14 PM
30 $ congrats ! what school (something in california ? :))

TruDog
02-19-2008, 11:18 PM
I've never heard of an offer better than $25,000, and most schools are in the $15,000 to $20,000 range. Holy cow!

Zymonick
02-20-2008, 01:08 AM