Urch Forums

Fulbright Scholarship - Does it help on acceptance?

Hi Everyone, I've been selected as a Fulbright Student (Foreign Program). Does this increase my chances of admission?

I have a CS engineering degree (5-year course) from Uruguay. I have a converted GPA of 3.8 or 3.9. GRE: Q750 (did not do well here :rolleyes: ) V620 and W5.0. iBT Toefl: 117 (30 wri, 30 list, 28 speak, 29 read) I plan to focus on the design of Groupware-mediated collaborative web tools.

I am applying to the following universities (for an M.S.):

MIT (Media Lab)

Columbia University

New York University

New Jersey Institute of Technology

Brandeis University

Northeastern University

Penn State - University Park

Polytechnic University NY

I have 3 published articles. Fulbright covers my living expenses but I need to find a tuition waiver.

5 year industry experience (worked while studying)

Can you please rate my chances?

Thanks

Mortimer

It raises your chances immensely. It's not the fact that you are partially funded as much as the fact that you have been singled out as being a "top dog":

Today, the Fulbright Programme is one of the most prestigious awards programmes world-wide, operating in 144 countries and with 51 commissions. More Fulbright alumni have won Nobel Prizes than those of any other academic programme, including two in 2002.

Fulbright Program - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia172172172

You should be able to get into all the univerities on your list. The only question I would have would be MIT's Media Lab. Regarding funding, I don't know but you seem to be the type of person that would attract at least a partial tuition waiver. Also, after the first semester, you are more likely to get a TA position if one is not offered to you initially.

Hi Ancalagon,

I applied to the following groups:

Physical Language Workshop

Sociable Media

Lifelong Kindergaten