Urch Forums

PhD in CS UIUC Admit :)

I got an admit from UIUC for PhD in CS with aid, after rejects from Stan and CMU.

Also got an admit from USC (wasn't sure where I stood, so applied as a safe bet)..

Waiting to hear from Caltech and Gatech. My area of interest is Distributed computing. In most of the rankings I have come across, I see UIUC being ranked better than Caltech and Gatech. What do you say?

I see UIUC being ranked better than Caltech and Gatech. What do you say?
I say congratulations because it is better :tup: and I am jealous :D

Not only does UIUC rank better than GA Tech and Caltech for computer science, it also ranks better for the computer science specialty "systems," with UIUC ranking #5, GA Tech ranking #13, and Caltech ranking #19:

USNews.com: America's Best Graduate Schools 2008: Computer Science: Systems (requires subscription)

Thanks everybody. I have received all the decisions by emails..

Here is my porfile:

GRE Quantitative: 800

GRE Verbal: 600

GRE Analytical/AWA: 4

AGRE: 820

TOEFL: 116

Acad. Info.: UG College: National Institute of Technology, Trichy

UG University: National Institute of Technology, Trichy

UG Department: Computer Science

UG Grade: 9.56(10 point scale)

Addn. info:

Overall topper in department. Topped all departments in First Year.

Misc. info:

* Did a good project under SURGE (Summer Undergraduate Research Grant for Excellence) in IIT Kanpur * Worked in Orkut team in Google Bangalore as a summer intern LoRs from HOD, Google Mentor and another dept HOD

I recently have heard that PhD@USC is a rare admit.:( I am confused. Can somebody share any info on this...

I recently have heard that PhD@USC is a rare admit.http://www.www.urch.com/forums/../images/smilies/frown.gif I am confused. Can somebody share any info on this...

Yes that's true, getting into the PhD program at USC is really tough, Unlike the MS program which is considered as safe choice for everyone.

But who needs USC when there is UIUC :D