Urch Forums

Are German Pharmcists graduating after 2003 eligible for FPGEE?

Nika

Hello everybody,

I am a German Pharmacist and I moved tothe USA last year. I am now trying to figure out what I need to doto become a licensed Pharmacist here. I know that there is the FPGECProgramm including the FPGEE. My problem is that I am not sure if Iam qualified or the test.

My main issue is the 5 year-DegreeRequirement (I graduated after 2003). To become a Pharmacist inGermany you need to go to university for 4 years and pass the firstand second State Exam. Then you need to leave the university and do a one-year internship. After the year of internship you have anothertest (the third State Exam). Only if you pass all these three testsyou get the license to work. So it takes at least 5 years to be aPharmcist.

Now I do not know if I meet therequirement of 5 years because my education at the university wasonly 4 years and the website of the NABP clearly says thatinternships do not count.

Is there another German Pharmcist whograduated after 2003 and was able to take the test?

Does anybody know what I can do if theinternship does not count? Can I just go university here for a yearto get the 5 years or is my whole degree useless?

I am thankful for every answer!

• 5 weeks later...

I think it counts into the five-year requirement, this is why:

The FPGEC Application Bulletin states that "The following completed after graduation cannot be considered for determining the minimum required curriculum length: (...) internships (...).

It says AFTER graduation, but we need this internship to take the final Third Exam and get our German pharmacy degree. The internship happens before the graduation.

However, I just sent an e-mail to NABP and asked them, just to make sure. I will post here if I get an answer.

• 2 weeks later...

Hello,

sorry for answering so late!