Urch Forums

Advice for application (with profile)

alwaysthinking

Hi all,

I am 25 years old, and currently working for a top 10 economic consulting firm doing research and analysis on health outcomes. I graduated from a top LAC in 2008, majoring in economics with a minor in mathematics.

While initially interested in law school, I've been drawn to the more academic options over the past couple of years, and have decided that an economics PhD is the route for me. However, since my undergraduate record isn't impressive for the programs I would like to get into, I am debating whether to apply this fall for next years class, or another year and apply next fall. In the meantime, I would take additional courses (at the Harvard Extension school) to help boost my profile.

I'd also love some advice on what kind of schools I should be aiming for, given my profile.

PROFILE:

Type of Undergrad: BS in Economics/ minor in Math at top LAC

Undergrad GPA: 3.75/4.0 (Cum Laude, Phi Beta Kappa)

Major GPA: 3.81/4.0

GRE: Not taken yet

Math Courses: Calc I+II (A), Multivariable Calculus (A), Differential Equations (A+), Probability (B+), Game Theory (A), Introduction to Abstraction (an introductory proofs class, A-)

Econ Courses: Intro Macro (A+), Intermediate Macro (A+), Intermediate Micro (A), Statistics (B), Econometrics (A), International Macro (A), Corporate Finance (B, had a personal issue before the sole exam, and messed up badly) , Game Theory (B+), Accounting (A-), Senior Thesis (A), Economics of Financial Markets (graduate level, Harvard Extension, on course for an A)

Other Courses: 4 Physics courses

Letters of Recommendation: 2 econ professors (1 kind of well known, the other not so well known) and 1 math professor