Urch Forums

M.S. in Mathematical/Quantitative Finance, Is it feasible?

GenGRE

Hi all, I am currently pursuing under-graduation (I'm in the final year of school). I have some queries regarding Mathematical/Quantitative Finance, they are as follows:

Query 1

Can anyone suggest some universities/schools(if they are less reputed)in the U.S that offer an M.S in Quantitative/Mathematical Finance?

Query 2

Assuming I managed to graduate in 2012,How are the job prospects for a person (particularly at Wall Street) who has acquired an M.S. in Quantitative Finance (say, from a less reputed school, not necessarily from Princeton, Berkeley etc)?

I am an international student;I have a pretty ordinary GPA, and my GRE score is 1350 (Quants-660; Verbal- 690;AWA- 4.0); I am planning of re-taking the GRE solely to bolster my Quant score (I feel it is too low for an M.S. in Quantitative Finance);My baccalaureate degree is in Computer Science, I have good grades in Math related courses at the under-graduate level.

In a nut-shell, I would like to know -- Is it feasible to pursue an M.S. in Quantitative/Mathematical Finance, are there any jobs that I may land up with (after graduation) at Wall Street or any other place?

Do provide some advice/replies/suggestions to my queries, Thanks in advance!

• 1 month later...

hahaha @ Rabenstein's post.

Global Derivatives list of universities with financial engineering programs is pretty good. Don't bother too much with the rankings, since it has been ages since they updated that.