Sponsored Ad:

Thread: Bad GPA, no recommendations, but at least ETS doesn't think I'm stupid. Am I screwed?

Trying to make mom and pop proud

Good post? Yes | No

Bad GPA, no recommendations, but at least ETS doesn't think I'm stupid. Am I screwed?

Sponsored Ad:
    This story is a little convoluted, so bear with me if you can.

I graduated from Willamette University in 2002 with a BS in chemistry. During my time there, I managed to fall out of favor with just about every chemistry prof in the department. To make matters worse, I finished with a spectacular overall GPA of 2.7 (2.3 within my major). My utter lack of performance wasn't due to a lack of knowledge or ability - it was because I was forced by my parents to major in something I thoroughly despised.

After graduation, the parental pressure continued - they wanted me to get into graduate school. I moved north to Seattle from my childhood home in western Oregon, feigning interest in the University of Washington's graduate programs. You can probably guess at what my real motives were.

Anyway, over the past three years, I've managed to get sucked into a career as a software developer by accident. It's the same damn thing every day - I wake up, go to work and sit in front of a monitor for nine hours, then go home and not have the mental energy to do anything. It makes me enough money to be comfortable, but I'm completely disaffected. My heart's just not in it.