Urch Forums

was it a right decision?

hey guys. i am almost certain to pursue my masters in financial economics at the univ of maine, orono.....actually i applied at cornell, william and mary and brandies too...but since umaine offered me TA, i decided to puruse my course their coz i am short in money..

acttually am internatiaonal student....my GRE scores are V-570, Q-720, writing- 4.5 and toefl is 273....my undergraduate gpa is 3.49....i did my bachelor with major in business and information system...

actually brandies did offer me 75 percent tution scholarships in masters in international economics and finance, and william and mary also offered me assistanceships for but still had to pay 13,000 more.......cornell gave me admission but no aid.......

should i have applied to more univ, like uconn, uva, ...i dunno do they accept international students who dont have eco majors for phd...i was skeptical so dint apply.

thought. i did micro, macro, stat, calculus, finance...coures in my undergrad..

please let me know....i want to do phd...so wat are the chances of getting admission in top-10 after graduating from umaine....

Hi there!!!! First of all, congratulations for your admissions...I advise you to do as well as you can in your Master. A good performance will enhance a lot your chances to get accepted in top US schools afterwards...besides, try to get to know well your professors so that later you can get good LOR...btw, why a master in financial econ if you wanna pursue a PhD in economics?

well...i can change to economics if i want to later on........ since i had jus six credit hours of economics in my undergrad i thought i would not be accepted to hard core economics program..