Urch Forums

Possible actions to be taken regarding weak Maths background

Ibn Abbas

I had already described my situation somewhat in another thread, but there seems to be no response to that as yet. So I am hoping to attract the attention of some veterans in this new thread, like Econ, gstergia to help me get out of the mess I am in.

First of all, I am a a 4h-year student of a Bachelors Program in Business Administration, otherwise known as BBA. You may call it the younger brother of the much known MBA. Unfortunately, I lost interest in the field of business not long after joining the program and I dream about being an economist day and night. Having realized my mistake, I now plan to do my Masters in Economics and then try for a PhD. But the problems start here:

1) My BBA program included the following relevant courses that somewhat relates to Economics:

Mathematics for Decision-Making - some calculus related to differentiation, integration, limits, continuity, a little bit of algebra, mean value theorem etc all of which I have mostly forgotten since I took it in my first semester and its been more than 3 years since. Furthermore, I got a C+ because the teacher was not good.

Micro-economics - you know what this includes and I don't need to elaborate on this. I got an A.

Macro-economics - though my grade is not out as yet, I am more or less expecting an A.

Statistics 1 - covered descriptive statistics and probability and I got a B+

Statistics 2 - correlation, regression, hypothesis testing etc and B+

So you can see that my main weakness is in Maths. In fact, given the profile of some other people I have come across in the threads, my maths background is pathetic :wallbash: