Sponsored Ad:
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Possible actions to be taken regarding weak Maths background

Good post? Yes | No

Possible actions to be taken regarding weak Maths background

Sponsored Ad:
    I had already described my situation somewhat in another thread, but there seems to be no response to that as yet. So I am hoping to attract the attention of some veterans in this new thread, like Econ, gstergia to help me get out of the mess I am in.

First of all, I am a a 4h-year student of a Bachelors Program in Business Administration, otherwise known as BBA. You may call it the younger brother of the much known MBA. Unfortunately, I lost interest in the field of business not long after joining the program and I dream about being an economist day and night. Having realized my mistake, I now plan to do my Masters in Economics and then try for a PhD. But the problems start here:

1) My BBA program included the following relevant courses that somewhat relates to Economics:
    Mathematics for Decision-Making - some calculus related to differentiation, integration, limits, continuity, a little bit of algebra, mean value theorem etc all of which I have mostly forgotten since I took it in my first semester and its been more than 3 years since. Furthermore, I got a C+ because the teacher was not good.
    Micro-economics - you know what this includes and I don't need to elaborate on this. I got an A.
    Macro-economics - though my grade is not out as yet, I am more or less expecting an A.
    Statistics 1 - covered descriptive statistics and probability and I got a B+
    Statistics 2 - correlation, regression, hypothesis testing etc and B+
    So you can see that my main weakness is in Maths. In fact, given the profile of some other people I have come across in the threads, my maths background is pathetic