Urch Forums

Call to previous successful GRE biochem test takers for their valuable tips

Hi Everyone,

I will be taking GRE Biochem exam in coming month of October to get PhD in Human Genetics. My situation is that I have only 50 days left for the exam. I am currently studying from Stryer for Biochem, and Griffith for Genetics and Karp for cell and molecular biology. My M.Sc. GPA is 3.3, but sadly my undergrad GPA isn't stellar (it is below 3), also I don't have any relevant work exp. or any publications, therefore need to get a good score in GRE in order to get short listed. I have gone through many of the previous posts which I have found really helpful. However, it would be really kind if someone can suggest any ideas to get a good score in such a short time. Much help and advise is appreciated.

Cheers!

I would suggest taking a year to get some research experience in. One year will make you ridiculously more competitive. But - anyway, back to the advice actually requested.

I am prepping to take the exam the 27th of this month, so I can't exactly say how successful my method has been thus far. (I did take the practice test yesterday and got in the 70%, though I am gunning for 90th) Hopefully you have a good basis to go off of from undergrad. First I would go through the ETS outline and see what topics you know you need work on. Right out of the gate I knew I need to review enzyme kinetics, motor proteins & cytoskeletal elements, ECM components, photosynthesis and signaling pathways (this is just the very beginning). Tackle the things you know from your classes you either didn't understand or forgot the second you walked out of the exam. I read up on these things and watched lectures.