Urch Forums

Welcome to the High School Admissions Forum!

Erin

Believe it or not, many people work very hard to get into a great high school. I have a lot of experience helping people get into high school here in San Francisco, and I will try my best to help others as time permits.

Okay, I'll go wait quietly for the second brave person to post in this brand new forum. :D

Hi Erin!

Hmm... I don't know what to say. Just wanted to be "the second brave person" to post in this brand new forum!!

Btw, Is it really hard to get into a good high school in the US? In Bangladesh, it is very very difficult (some times more difficult than grad schools) to get into a good high school!

Hi Erin!

Hmm... I don't know what to say. Just wanted to be "the second brave person" to post in this brand new forum!!

Btw, Is it really hard to get into a good high school in the US? In Bangladesh, it is very very difficult (some times more difficult than grad schools) to get into a good high school!

same here in pakistan !

haha. SO TRUE!!! Getting into the right high school is one of the most important things ever in SF! There is so much competition to get into the best schools in the area. It's as insane and important as getting into college for most. Everyone knows one school's better than the next, so much pressure!

Just a note, if you want to get your butt into some great schools in SF, it's recommended that you're an athlete (sounds a lot like college, huh?). After all, I know certain schools *ahem* recruit students. I'm not sure how big SI is into recruiting, but the Athletic Department is a huge thing. Grades and entrance exam tests are also mega huge. Oh, and ALUM CONNECTIONS!!! haha. Yup. Least that's how things work where I am.

Public schools are also really hard to get into! Especially in SF. Lowell is one of the hardest schools to get into, and there's a huge difference between it and Mission. sigh. Lowell gets so many people into Berkeley, it's insane.