Urch Forums

334(Q-169,V-165)- If I can do it, so can you

anupk

I'm done with the GRE and scored a 334 overall(Q-169,V-165)

My target was to score 330+ and hell yeah I'm happy!

I'm targeting all the top schools for computer science on the west coast- CalTech, Stanford,UCLA,UC Berkley,USC . Although there are a couple of top computer science schools

on the east coast but i want to study in and around the silicon valley where all the action in computer science is so that's why west coast schools are my priority!

How I went about my preparation

Since I'm studying in a top enginering school in India,GRE Math seemed liked a cakewalk and frankly speaking,I didn't study for it much I just brushed up my basics but did a lot of practice.

GRE Math:

The GRE Math questions are from high school. The difficult ones are a bit tricky but if you get familiar with the types of questions that are tested,you shouldn't have much difficulty.

GRE Verbal:

GRE Verbal was a tough nut to crack though. I've not been into the habit of reading much and had to practice a lot from different books.

I primarily used 3 sources- Princetons' Crack the GRE, GRE Official Guide and GRE Verbal Grail. Here's what I think about these books

Princeton's Crack the GRE book- The book is good for basics and for giving you an overview but not much beyond that. I guess it's written for people who are looking at average scores otherwise it's of not much help.

So for my verbal prep, I primarily relied on the ETS Official Guide and GRE Verbal Grail.

ETS OG- The good thing about the official guide is that the verbal questions in it are quite tricky especially the text completion ones. The bad thing is that there aren't many practice questions.