Urch Forums

Help regarding internship

samay1234

Hello there! I want to ask if you are a Canadian pharmacy licensee. If so, are you aware that Canadian pharmacists are exempted for 1000 hrs internship in Michigan? If you want to apply in MI first then transfer your internship hours or license to the state you want to stay. In that case you save 1000 hrs of internship. Just a suggestion.

I am also a canadian citizen who cleared FPGEC and planning to do internship in Florida. I also have an employer, owning a independent pharmacy ready to hire me . Right now, i am in the documentation process.I am waiting for a mail from the Florida board of pharmacy replying to my question of how to start my internship without having a SSN card first, then when i reach there i can apply for it. My employer is yet to send me the employment letter.Once i get the letter, i have to apply for TN visa.

• 3 weeks later...

Hello Jaken, thank you for the suggestion! I'm also a Canadian pharmacist living in MA but I'm unable to find a preceptor for internship and planning to apply in MI.

One question for you: do you know if we have to make up the difference in internship hours when transferring the pharmacist licence from MI to MA as MI only requires 1000 hours of internship (which I get exempted as being a Canadian pharmacist) while MA requires 1500 hours?

I've tried contacting MA board of pharmacy & PCS MA licensing coordinator, but no one seems to be able to tell me the answer.

Hello Jaken, thank you for the suggestion! I'm also a Canadian pharmacist living in MA but I'm unable to find a preceptor for internship and planning to apply in MI.

One question for you: do you know if we have to make up the difference in internship hours when transferring the pharmacist licence from MI to MA as MI only requires 1000 hours of internship (which I get exempted as being a Canadian pharmacist) while MA requires 1500 hours?