Urch Forums

Real Analysis for PhD in Finance

huzun

Hi everyone,

I'm currently a Masters student in Applied Statistics at a good Mid-western school known for its engineering and Math/Stats program .

I would like to know your opinion (especially people in a PhD program) regarding a choice that I have to make. I have to decide between taking graduate Real Analysis and Time Series for next semester. Although, I'm aware that both these courses are important in a PhD program, I was wondering if taking Real Analysis prepares you really well for the first year coursework especially for the Microeconomics Theory sequence or can one do without it? I am also aware that my grades won't be available to the adcom when they make a decision on my application.

Also, I took Financial Econometrics at UNC Charlotte where I recently finished an MS in Mathematical Finance.

I want to know in a general sense as to how important Real Analysis is for doing well in a PhD Finance program. I have a decent quantitative background having done my undergrad in electrical engineering although I have never really done rigorous proofs based Analysis.

Thanks,

Thanks a lot guys for your valuable advice. Based on what you suggest, I guess I should take Time Series and if possible audit the Real Analysis course. On the other hand an Econ Prof suggested to me that I take Real Analysis above all if I wanted to do PhD in Econ.

Tough choice to make although I'm tilting heavily towards what you guys suggested. Anyways thanks again.

take real analysis now, you'll take it anyway (i.e. math econ) and the second time through will make much more sense

edit:

If you can do the proofs in baby Rudin, you should be fine. That's the textbook we're using for our math econ class (+ some supplemental stuff on optimization/linear algebra). I really wish I had done an analysis course before entering the program (quant marketing).

Edited by yangyang2000
additional info