Sponsored Ad:
See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Thread: Accounting PhD Admissions - Effect of accounting firm size on admission

Trying to make mom and pop proud

Good post? Yes | No

Accounting PhD Admissions - Effect of accounting firm size on admission

Sponsored Ad:
    Long time reader, first time poster here. Lots of great information on accounting PhD's in this forum, so thanks to all contributors. Thought I'd ask a question I haven't yet seen. I am considering pursuing a PhD in accounting. I currently work as a tax associate at a local but reputable CPA firm with about 60 accountants. I noticed that many current accounting PhD students come from big 4. All things equal, how detrimental is it to my application that my experience is from a smaller firm, rather than big 4 or a national firm?

Within my grasp!

1 out of 1 members found this post helpful. Good post? Yes | No
    Maybe as the schools include (some) emphasis on teaching it matters? Otherwise, no one really cares.

Assumption Investigator

1 out of 1 members found this post helpful. Good post? Yes | No
    Quote Originally Posted by chuck View Post
    Long time reader, first time poster here. Lots of great information on accounting PhD's in this forum, so thanks to all contributors. Thought I'd ask a question I haven't yet seen. I am considering pursuing a PhD in accounting. I currently work as a tax associate at a local but reputable CPA firm with about 60 accountants. I noticed that many current accounting PhD students come from big 4. All things equal, how detrimental is it to my application that my experience is from a smaller firm, rather than big 4 or a national firm?
    I think the causal arrow goes the other way. That is, people with good enough GMAT scores and high enough UGGPAs that are good enough for Ph.D. programs are often the same that are good enough for big-4 accounting.
    Quote Originally Posted by Indus