Urch Forums

Advise Needed. Profile Evaluation- Phd Accounting or Accounting Information System

freewer

I am considering applying for Phd in Accounting or AIS for 2015, but I am not sure if I have any chance of being a competitive candidate. Any advice is welcome.

Education:

BS in Bus Admin from China, major in Accounting, GPA overall: 3.6. Accounting GPA is a little lower. Maths courses in Calculus and linear algebra are As.

Recently graduated from Master of Accountancy program in a local state university with GPA of 3.8.

Professional Experience:

No full-time regular work experience. Only did a few internships during summer or winter breaks in accounting or analytical role.

Others:

GMAT 690(Q51, V31) - taken in 2011. Question: I know my verbal score sucks, does it important and should I retake it?

CPA exams all passed , don't have license yet because I have no work experience.

First author of an article to be published soon in a business journal (not one of those most famous journals), the article is about financial analysis of a special event.

LORs: I guess I have two options: 

1. one or two letters from my Master Professors. do not have a lot contact with them because I didn't think I will apply phd back then, but I believe getting a letter would be no problem

2. one or two letters from the professors who co-authored with me for the article mentioned above. They are like good friends with me, but (they are not in the accounting field though.

Any advice on LORs as well? Which kind of reference would be preferable?

Can any one have suggestions on selection of school? I have totally no clue about it.

Currently I do not have any idea of what should I do research on, but I am interested in Accounting Information System. Is there a list of school that provides this concentration?

Edited by freewer