Urch Forums

PhD in Accounting at a Top School - Math Class Strategy Needed

erc

Hi all,

I've done a lot of research on pursuing an accounting PhD and have a general idea of the admissions requirements and career path, but I'd appreciate some advice for my specific situation.

I graduated from a small state school with a near-perfect GPA in accounting undergrad and in my Masters in Accounting program. I have roughly two years work experience at a Big 4 and am a licensed CPA (currently transitioning out of the Big 4 and looking at next steps).

I was initially interested in pursuing a PhD in economics, but I've heard that I'd face much tougher competition in getting into a top school, and that new economics professors make only a fraction of what accounting professors do (if they can even find tenure-track academic jobs). As such, I've been told to do an accounting PhD, get a job at a top school and then research economics-related areas.