Urch Forums

Profile Evaluation for PhD Accounting, September 2016

Abdullayeva

Hi everyone,

I am CIS country citizen and plan to apply for PhD in USA and Canada.

I have an undergraduate degree in World Economy from top university in my country (GPA 4.0);

MSc in Accounting and Finance (research oriented )in top 10 UK universities (GPA 3.0-3.33, but thesis grade - 4.0 (distinction), that accounts for 60 credits out of 180 received from MSc).

Work experience: 2 internships ( Ministry and major telecommunication company) during 2nd year of BSc studies

2 years as part-time tax consultant at one of the Big4 companies during last 2 years of bachelors

1 year (after my master's degree) in audit department at another Big4 company. I got promotion in half a year and currently work as an advanced staff.

Also I am a lecturer at state university in my country (teaching Economics to 2year bsc students)

GMAT Score: 650

My master's degree was research based and contained lots of econometrics, which at first lowered my gpa due to lack of sufficient knowledge. But then with the help of my Econometrics Professor who was my thesis supervisor I was able to advance my knowledge and got distinction on my dissertation.

I loved doing research and currently enjoy teaching. Therefore I would like to continue my career in academia.

Would be glad if anyone could advice me whether my background is enough to be admitted to PhD program in USA? And which range of schools should I consider?

A few observations/questions....

1. A research based masters degree will differentiate you from the vast majority of people applying to U.S. accounting PhD programs. You should emphasize this, and hopefully can get some good letters of recommendation from faculty that you had in this program.