Urch Forums

Profile Evaluation for PhD in Marketing

felixn

Hello there,

I'm an MBA student who is interested in pursuing a career in academia, and I would love to hear some recommendations from you guys.

Test Scores (GMAT/GRE): 760 (51Q 42V)

Undegrad GPA: 3.3/4.0 in Business Economics from a business school in Southeast Asia (top nationally, but not well-known internationally)

Graduate GPA: 3.9/4.0 MBA in Marketing Research with a good portion of Quant courses (Psy Exp Analytics, Marketing Analytics, Multivariate Analysis, Machine Learning, Clustering...)

Research Experience: senior thesis in Business Econ, class marketing research project. (meh :blue:, I know)

Teaching Experience: 2 TA semesters in Statistics

Work Experience: ~ 3 years in Product Management, with some programming and ML experience

Concentration Applying to: Marketing (Quant), or maybe Innovation

Number of programs planned to apply to: 10

Dream Schools: UT Austin, USC - Marshall, Maryland, OSU

Other Questions:

What made you want to pursue a PhD?

I love to do independent research, on a topic of my own desire. Academia lifestyle is also probably a better fit for my personality than corporate.

Questions or concerns you have about your profile?

Low UG GPA, not many Math classes in UG, and almost zero research experience.Thanks!

• 2 weeks later...

Your profile seems good. Not exceptional, but certainly not bad either.

It looks like you have already identified the problems you have. So, you know your profile is not bulletproof, and that may keep you out of some schools. The schools you listed seem to be very strong, but I guess you will apply in a wider range.