Urch Forums

Profile Eval! Would like some opinions

sjb55

Hey guys and girls,

I am applying to do a PhD at the University of South Carolina in International Business.

Profile:

7 years of professional experience at two fortune 500 global consultancies.

Undergrad GPA: 2.5 from the University of SC (Low.. but a long time ago)

I have a Master's in Risk Management from Florida State -- William T Hold Scholar, Dean's List - Final GPA 3.53 (Did this while traveling as a consultant 4 nights a week)

Currently, I am studying at The London School of Economics for a MSc in Management, Information Systems and Digital Innovation.

I will have two Master's and 7 years professional experience at the time of entry.

Problem areas:

GMAT -- I took the GMAT in 2015, one time, without studying, to get a feel for the test and got a 540. I never studied for it again, applied to FSU and got in -- When applying to the London School of Economics, I did not need to submit my GMAT so I didn't retake it.

540 is obscenely low. I did not have time to retake this test prior to applying to USC. I was working/consulting full time and upon arriving in London my time is better spent working with world class researchers and studying than reviewing for the GMAT.

Also, before anyone trolls -- I did buy GMAT study materials and attempted to prepare -- but here at LSE, if any of you have attended, you read nearly 12 hours a day. It's just simply not possible, there's not enough time in the day.

What do you guys think? Is this a killer? I've tried my best to articulate this and point towards my profile strengths in my essays.

I posted a longer response but it must've gotten lost somewhere.

I think that it will be difficult to get very far in the process with this GMAT score. Do you have any strong ties to USC?

How is your quantitative background?

Also, is there any particular reason why you are applying to one school? People generally apply to 10 or so.