Urch Forums

Profile Evaluation_PhD in Technological Innovation, Entrepreneurship & Strategic Mgmt

sgotpagar

Hi All,

I am looking for profile evaluation and some advice about pursuing Phd program. I am a working professional in technology industry with expertise in Fintech and retail Sector. Currently working in US for a well known organization at a management position. I am planning to make a move from a corporate world to Academic research and hence evaluating whether I can be a good fit for PhD program.

Test Scores (GMAT/GRE): I have yet to give one. The 1st GMAT score is expired.

Undergrad:

Done Bachelors in Computer Engineering in 2003 - Mumbai University (Top Engineering school).

Undegrad GPA: 3.75

Masters degree:

Recently completed MBA - One of Top 5 University.

Areas of interest in Innovation Strategy & Marketing - Consumer Behavior

Research Experience: No experience

Teaching Experience: No experience

Work Experience: 15 years in Technology Industry. Currently at Management positions

Concentration Applying to:

Number of programs planned to apply to: 5-6 universities

Dream Schools:

Kellogg, MIT, Havard, Booth, Stanford, Berkeley

Other Questions:

What made you want to pursue a PhD?

Technological Innovation, Entrepreneurship and Strategic Management.

On Marketing - Digital Marketing and Analytics.

Questions or concerns you have about your profile?

I am in my late 30s and planning to apply for PhD programs starting in 2020. For me my biggest concern is my age. University prefer PhD candidates in their late 20s and early 30s. Will this be any disadvantage for my profile.

Any additional specific questions you may have:

As I am applying for 2020 program, would it would be any help if I work with professor to gain academic research experience to solidify my profile.

Due to industry experience, I am aware of few research topics that I am personally passionate about. Should I start exploring on those topics as well?

About your age concern.