Urch Forums

Profile Evaluation – Ph.D. or MPhil in Finance (Low Profile from an Emerging Country)

lnPhdFin

Hello Urch,

I want to apply for a Ph.D. program this year, but I have a lot of concerns regarding my chances due to my low profile. At the beginning of this year, I finished my master degree, and I was very excited to get a Ph.D. But after I read several profiles evaluation topics on this forum, I'm concluding that it would be almost impossible to get into any Ph.D. in the US or Europe. But I really want to get some opinions to move forward (to apply, to take another way or to give up).

My Profile:

Type of Undergrad: Public Federal University in South America in Business Administration. But, unfortunately, my university is almost unknown outside my country. In the positive side, the public federal universities are the best Unis in my country.

Test Scores (GMAT/GRE): Planning to take the GRE in July 2019.

Undergrad GPA: 3,12 (7,8/10 in my country).

Type of Grad: Master at the same university in Business Administration (Corporate Finance Track).

Graduate GPA: 3,4 (8,5/10 in my country).

Research Experience: My MSc in Business was research oriented. So I have almost seven research papers/working papers: A paper published in a peer review national accounting journal; A paper published in the most recognized national business congress. Two papers in the most recognized national accounting congress. Two papers in the best finance congress and one working papers that I have to finish. They are all in my SSRN.com page.

I think I can submit two of them to an international journal at the end of this semester.

Teaching Experience: A semester as a teacher assistant (Corporate Finance class).

Work Experience: Internship in a public audit office.

Finance courses (Undergrad-level): Financial Management I and II, Financial Mathematics;

Finance courses (Grad-level): Strategic Planning and Control, Asset Valuation and Corporate Finance.