Urch Forums

Do you have a recommendation on the order of the various sections in one's CV (length: 2 pages)? I've been working for six years and my professional experience is more relevant than my undergraduate publications (which were in a difference discipline) and more substantive than the current project I'm an RA on. Thus, I'm inclined to put my professional experience first and then follow with publications and current research - but I know the latter weighs more for programs. Any guidance here? Thanks!

You wrote that your "professional experience is more relevant". Why is that more relevant? Is it that relevant for your application, or for the school? Maybe you're trying to make your professional experience a strong selling point for your application, I don't know.

I had something like 20 years of professional experience when I applied. But I don't think it was so relevant for my PhD application, since that's not what schools were looking for, in my opinion. So that was the last thing on my CV.

You wrote that your "professional experience is more relevant". Why is that more relevant? Is it that relevant for your application, or for the school? Maybe you're trying to make your professional experience a strong selling point for your application, I don't know.

I had something like 20 years of professional experience when I applied. But I don't think it was so relevant for my PhD application, since that's not what schools were looking for, in my opinion. So that was the last thing on my CV.