Urch Forums

Profile Evalutation - PhD in Business (Finance)

kjmin1994

Hello everyone,

I'm planning on applying to Business Ph.D programs this year. I would appreciate any suggestions and advises as to what I should do to improve my prospects

Test Scores (GMAT): 760 (Q: 50, V: 42, IR: 8, AWA: 5.5)

Undegrad GPA: 3.88 (Magna Cum Laude), Bachelor of Arts in economics with a minor in accounting at a top US public university

Research Experience: Did a directed research with a business school professor when I was an undergraduate student. Researched and wrote a paper about a topic of my interest (international trade agreement's impact on the trade of IT products), but did not publish it in any journal.

Teaching Experience: None

Work Experience: I'm currently serving in the Air Force as an officer. This year is my third year in the military and I plan to exit the service at the end of this year. I've been working as a combined operations coordinator/interpreter and my job generally involves coordinating with foreign military officers or serving as an interpreter for high ranking officers. I received a few commendations from my commander and the commander of the foreign forces I work with.

Math/Statistics: Statistics for Economists, Econometrics, Calculus of several variables

Concentration Applying to: Finance (I'm interested in international finance and, more specifically, the role of international financial institutions)

Number of programs planned to apply to: Around 20

Target Schools: Top 20 schools

Questions or concerns you have about your profile?

- Should I be concerned that I did not take any classes in Linear Algebra?

- Should I take some additional statistics or math class through online extension programs?

- Would the lack of journal publication hurt my application?

Thank you and I look forward to any and all advises you may have

V/R

Edited by kjmin1994