Urch Forums

Economics Master before applying for Marketing PhD?

Leeeee

Hi everyone,

I have an undergraduate degree in Economics from top Canadian university, GPA 2.7/4.0

I am finishing my second undergraduate degree in Computer Science from the middle rank Canadian university, GPA 3.93/4.0, with two research experience from the field of data visualization, two faculty level awards and one national award. No publication.

I want to apply for the PhD in quant Marketing in the future, according to my current background, is it a good idea to pursue a Master degree in Economics to enhance my research experience in business related field?

Thank you.

Edited by Leeeee

Hi everyone,

I have an undergraduate degree in Economics from top Canadian university, GPA 2.7/4.0

I am finishing my second undergraduate degree in Computer Science from the middle rank Canadian university, GPA 3.93/4.0, with two research experience from the field of data visualization, two faculty level awards and one national award. No publication.

I want to apply for the PhD in quant Marketing in the future, according to my current background, is it a good idea to pursue a Master degree in Economics to enhance my research experience in business related field?

Thank you.

Just a thought, it might help your application if you leave out the first degree and avoid questions on the low GPA for that.

Just a thought, it might help your application if you leave out the first degree and avoid questions on the low GPA for that.

DO NOT DO THIS!

If you hide a previous degree or grades and they find out you will definitely be rejected. If they find out after you start the program they can and probably will kick you out for academic dishonesty. And if your second degree is from the same University you would not be able to do this anyway.

DO NOT DO THIS!