Urch Forums

Recommended steps for future Accounting PhD application.

Skidover

Hello everyone!

I am currently in my last year of undergrad, and I am interested in getting my PhD in accounting. I am really unsure as to where I should start in this entire situation, and I was hoping I could gain a little clarity as to what I could focus on.

Undergrad: 3.86 GPA in Accountancy and Finance. Graduated in 3 years from a top accounting school.

Graduate: Will be completing my MAcc in the upcoming year.

GMAT: Never taken an actual exam, I have scored in the 740-750 range on practice exams.

Courses: Have completed a variety of courses related to accounting and finance. Macro, micro, and intermediate micro economics. A variety of statistics courses. Calc 1 and 2.

Teaching experience: I am the head TA for a course related to business management, and teamwork. I am, also, planning on teaching accounting courses for duration of my MAcc.

Research: I have little research experience, but I am looking at being a research assistant at my University in the upcoming semester.

Work experience: I have held an internship in the past, and I will be interning at a big four accounting firm next Summer.

Letters of rec: I have multiple people that I know would be willing to write a letter of rec for me. One of them has a strong background in research, and others are in accounting academia.

Weaknesses: Most obviously my work and research experience. Letters of rec I think are also something I could improve on. Also, my math background is also very weak.

Questions: Are there any courses that you think I should try taking over the next year?

Should I apply to PhD programs in the upcoming Fall, or should I wait until I have more tangible work experience?

What are my biggest weaknesses to an observer?

I am a little lost in this entire process, and I really appreciate any and all feedback that you guys have for me.

Thanks for taking the time to read my post. :)