Urch Forums

Profile Evaulation - PhD in Marketing (Quantitative)

Darthmaul

Test Scores (GMAT/GRE): GRE: Verbal 95th percentile, Quant 98th percentile, writing 98th percentile

Undegrad GPA: 3.4 overall (Chemistry major), 3.95 in math + stat courses

Graduate GPA: 4.00 (Applied Statistics & Analytics)

Research Experience: Undergrad: Research in chemistry education, biochem, and analytics (presented at conferences and all that jazz), no journal publications though. Grad: Independent research in time series, bioinformatics/medical analytics, and data science. Research in multiple programming languages (Python, R and SAS) with all sorts of machine learning and statistical schools.

Teaching Experience: I am a lecturer of introductory statistics and teach classes along with taking my grad courses.

Work Experience: College instructor, data science graduate student consultant for 2 semester (1 semester was for a Fortune 100 Company). Might possibly get a data science internship this summer after I graduate.

Concentration Applying to: Quantitative Marketing/Modelling

Number of programs planned to apply to: 5-6 (in Fall 2022)

Dream Schools: UT Dallas, GA Tech (I'm from Georgia), UGA, Texas A&M (they publish a LOT).

-Additional information: US Citizen but a minority in terms of ethnicity

Other Questions:

What made you want to pursue a PhD? I currently teach at the university level and absolutely see myself doing this the rest of my life. I am interested in Marketing because the quantitative side seems to be heading to a unique intersection of business and data science, both of which interest me.

Questions or concerns you have about your profile?

1. I have tons of math and stat courses (all the calculuses, linear algebra, mathematical statistics etc), but no business classes. Keep in mind that I am wanting to go the quantitative side and not the CB side of marketing. Still though, how "bad" is it that I would be applying with no previous MBA or business classes?