Sponsored Ad:
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Should I pursue a graduate degree in Economics ?

Trying to make mom and pop proud

Good post? Yes | No

Should I pursue a graduate degree in Economics ?

Sponsored Ad:
    I have read a lot of good, insightful posts here and would like to get some feedback from the boards.

Background --> I am 35 and work full - time at an Swiss investment bank in the COO's office. I am based in NYC. I have 11 years of work experience in a # of roles (big 4 audit, equity research, and my current role). I have an MBA from the University of Rochester ('02), a CFA charter, and an CPA license.

I am considering pursuing an MA at Fordham and wanted some honest feedback. The reason I picked Fordham is that it is P/T and has a MA degree. The NYU MA seems aimed at younger students (avg. age = 25), requires a GRE and I would not be able to start until Fall '10. Fordham would start Spring '10, so 6 months earlier and I just study for another standardized test - I hate them.

I am not interested in becoming a professor (so no PhD), studying full - time or moving from NYC, so my options are limited. I like my job and don't want to leave it. Frankly, this would be a bit of a "fun" thing for me. It could help indirectly in my current job, but it would not be a profound impact.

My motivation is that I enjoy learning and economics. I especially enjoy reading libertarian economists - Sowell, Hayek, etc. I thought this would help further my understanding of public policy issues - I am a libertarian. That's really it though.

My education has been in Finance and Accounting but I read economic - related books to improve my knowledge. I thought a degree would be more formal, structured and offer a tangible benefit - another grad. degree.

My questions are :

(a) is this a bad idea and not a productive use of my time ?