Urch Forums

MSc Economics: Bocconi or BGSE?

mkln

Hi everybody.

I absolutely love this forum and now I need you guys to give me some advice.

I am an italian Bocconi undergrad about to finish my 3-year bachelor course in Economics.

Two days ago I received an email telling me I have been accepted to Barcelona GSE 's MSc in Economics with full tuition waiver.

I still don't know the result of my application to Bocconi Msc Economics, but I am pretty sure I will be admitted to the MSc Economics. The question is: with or without scholarship (=tuition waiver)?

Bocconi's scholarship is basically a tuition waiver for the 1st year and is confirmed for the 2nd year only if you have a GPA of 28/30.

I initially thought that the best route towards a good PhD program would include 2 additional years in Bocconi, hopefully with scholarship.

I never considered that BGSE could actually give me a tuition waiver. I applied because I wanted to have some options, but I still thought Bocconi was the best possible choice.

BGSE requires 500 euros to be paid in advance and the deadline for me is april 25

Bocconi should be finished with the admissions by march 31 , but needs 2 more weeks to assign the scholarships.

This means that I won't have much time to decide between Bocconi and BGSE and this is why I am asking you guys to give me some advice.

Now that BGSE offers a full tuition waiver I am tempted to go there.

So what do you think about all this?

Scenarios:

1) BGSE [1 year] with tuition waiver vs Bocconi [2 years] with scholarship

or

2) BGSE [1 year] with tuition waiver vs Bocconi [2 years] without scholarship

if Bocconi gives me a scholarship I would probably stay in Milan, but as far as the second option is concerned, I think I'd go to Barcelona and save 20k euros.

finally, I don't have that much information about BGSE, so what do you think about it?