Urch Forums

What kinds of non-academic careers can economics PhD's do?

ASUleadtrumpet

I'm curious. I like backup plans. Last semester, I worked as a math instructional assistant, helping with grading, tutoring, and generally helping the class run smoothly. I really enjoyed this job. I'm currently working as a grader, which I enjoy less, but I'm plenty capable of doing it. Currently I have to put in extra hours to combat cheating though. :doh:

Anyway, I am curious as to what other career options are out there. I like to keep my options open.

Non-academic career for Economics PhD is usually (very briefly):

- private sector (consulting, research in private companies etc; there are also lots of positions in financial sector)

- government, NGOs, international organizations, think tanks (lots of kinds of jobs related to economic research, analysis or consulting)

Also look here to get some idea (search for non-academic jobs): http://www.aeaweb.org/joe/listings.php

Edited by oleador
added more info

From the US Occupational Outlook Handbook:

Individuals with a background in economics should have opportunities in various occupations. Some examples of job titles often held by those with an economics background are financial analyst, market analyst, public policy consultant, researcher or research assistant, and purchasing manager

It should be noted that a master's degree is sufficient for most of these positions.

Guest _nanashi