Urch Forums

Can a relatively high V score redeem a disappointing Q, or should I retake?

BlueCanary

Hi everyone! I've been having fun lurking here for several months, but now I finally have a situation about which I could use some opinions.

After consistently scoring 780-800Q on PowerPrep and other practice tests, I let my nerves get the best of me during the actual test last week and ended up with a 750Q. I was able to get a 720V though, which was 50-70 points higher than my practice tests, and I'd imagine the AWA score will be pretty good as well.

The relatively high verbal score is making me question whether I should retake the GRE or not. I'm a third-year US student at a Ph.D. granting university whose econ program usually doesn't grace the top of the rankings (let's call it "Top 80," but it may be lower), and I'd be looking to apply during the next cycle at the end of 2011. I have a 4.0 math & econ GPA so far, and I'm going to be taking the rest of the TM favorite math classes (Real Analysis, Math. Statistics, Probability, etc.) over the next two semesters.

I think I already know the answer, but I guess I'm wondering if the 720V is valuable at all. Should I take the risk of a losing the 700+ verbal score to improve the Q, or does my school's mediocre reputation preclude me from the top programs that require near-perfect GRE scores anyway?

The quantitative score is way more important. If you're aiming for top 30 you should retake the exam IMO. If you've gotten high grades on the practice tests, then I'd chalk this one up to nerves and go again. My advice might be different if you really didn't think you could do better; there are rare cases of people getting admits from top schools with a 750Q...though most of them benefit from pedigree.