Urch Forums

Profile Evaluation: Bad undergrad

berlin

My profile:

Undergrad: Bachelor in Business Administration from a German university: 3.0 (Grades are from 1 to 5 with 1 being the best.)

Math courses: Mathmatics 1+2, Statistics 1+2

Econ courses: Macroeconomics 1+2

Grad: Master in Business Administration at Humboldt University Berlin: 1.8 (Grades are from 1 to 5 with 1 being the best,)

Math courses: Econometrics 1+2

Econ courses: Game Theory 1+2

GRE: Quant 166, Verbal 153, AWA 4.5

LORs will be from two of my professor and a PhD with whom I worked with during my Master Thesis. Both should be strong. The professors have a good reputation in Germany. They have good publications.

My focus is on macroeconomics. I have some practical experience in that field through student jobs and internships.

I know my profile is not that strong, so I wouldnt even try to go for top schools. I was more thinking about the 20 to 40 schools.

To the OP, berlin, its sometimes difficult for this forum to comment on the profile strength of non-Americans because our education systems may be different. For example, we may have little idea as to what Mathematics 1+2 entail. Similarly, its difficult to evaluate your grades. For all I know, 4's and 5's may only be given out once every ten years or something, in which case a 3 is excellent.

I think your best bet is to try to find someone on the forum (and I'm sure there is someone) who is familiar with the German system.

• 1 month later...

Sorry for my late answer. thanks for the answers so far.

Where do your professors think you should apply?

The one said that it is generally hard for internationals. The other one said considering my profile I should get accepted somewhere if I am willing to send out 20 applications. They highly support my application. I wrote my master thesis for the one and are an RA/TA for the other one right now.