Urch Forums

Econ, Math, CGPA

billyshears

Any insights into what adcoms will think of my GPAs?

Cumulative undergrad GPA at Top 60 Public, Econ Major, Finance Minor: 3.64

Top 60 Public (Top 40 Econ PhD)

Total Econ: 3.45

Upper Division: 3.67

Last 2 years: 3.71 (A in Econometrics)

Currently completing the recomended math/stat (6) courses at a different Top 60 Public as a non degree student:

Projected GPA 3.85

So what are good ways to remedy mediocre econ grades? Take a grad micro class and ace it? Take additional undergrad classes and ace them? Can other parts of my profile make up for this. Say a 4.0 in math along with good LORs?

What does it do for schools ranked in the 30's and 40's?

Given your circumstances, I don't think trying to remedy the econ grades is a good step. If you get a few solid grades in advanced math, it'd help signal that your earlier econ grades reflected a lack of effort, not your true ability.

As for top 30-40 programs - I have some personal experience with one such program, and I'd doubt that you'd be admitted. Definitely apply to some of these programs, but put your safeties a bit lower.

Given your circumstances, I don't think trying to remedy the econ grades is a good step. If you get a few solid grades in advanced math, it'd help signal that your earlier econ grades reflected a lack of effort, not your true ability.

As for top 30-40 programs - I have some personal experience with one such program, and I'd doubt that you'd be admitted. Definitely apply to some of these programs, but put your safeties a bit lower.

What is your experience?

I have taken courses at such a graduate program, talked with a former director of admissions, and know the background of some students very well.