Urch Forums

Suggestions for a Masters candidate for 2015

econgooner

Hey, I just wanted to know what the community thought of my chances:

I'm a third year student at a state school.

PROFILE:

Type of Undergrad: BA Math + BA Econ

Undergrad GPA: 4.0

GRE: Not yet taken

Math Courses: Calc II (A), Multivariate Calc (A), Linear Algebra (A), Differential Equations (A), Proofs (A), Stats and Probability (A), Advanced Applied Linear Algebra (Pending) (Will be taking Math Modelling, Applied Stats, Numerical Analysis and maybe intro to real analysis)

Econ Courses (grad-level): N/A

Econ Courses (undergrad-level): Intro Micro (A), Intro Macro (A), Intermed Micro (A), Intermed Macro (A), Game Theory (A) (Will be taking Graduate Advanced Micro, Money and Banking, Econometrics and will write a Capstone thesis)

Other courses: Political science.

Letters of Recommendation: Professors from Math, Econ and Political Science.

Research: Potential position in a lab regarding financial markets.

Thanks!

• 2 weeks later...

How about the following institutions:

Oxford, Cambridge, LSE, MIT, UChicago?

In addition, the proof based class was an introduction to fundamental mathematical proofs and covered number theory, algebra and set theory. I know that there is a page on real analysis requirements but is this level of proof knowledge okay? Or would I be better off taking a course in real analysis as well?

I can speak somewhat about the UK master's programmes. UK master's programmes are not purely interested in preparing PhD students and focus on different things during admissions than you read about on this forum for PhD programmes.