Sponsored Ad:
See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Undergraduate Degree while in Graduate School?

Trying to make mom and pop proud

Good post? Yes | No

Undergraduate Degree while in Graduate School?

Sponsored Ad:
    I will be attending graduate school this Fall, for Economics PhD. For my undergraduate, I majored in Economics & Mathematics, and minored in Computer Science.

I found computer science very interesting and helpful when I minored in it. I was interesting in pursuing my education for computer science. Is it possible to complete an undergraduate major/degree, while being in a PhD program? I know the school I am going to does allow you to take undergraduate classes.

Perhaps this question is too dependent on the school I go to, and I should directly ask them. But otherwise, is this something ever done?

Within my grasp!

1 out of 1 members found this post helpful. Good post? Yes | No

Re: Undergraduate Degree while in Graduate School?

If you do an entire undergraduate degree, wouldn't that mean you have to take a bunch of general education, electives, and distributional classes as well? Is there a reason why you need the degree (as opposed to just taking whatever # of CS courses interest you and fit your schedule w/o officially getting a 2nd degree)?

TestMagic Guru Moderator

Good post? Yes | No

You mean you want to complete the classes to have a full major in Computer Science? I can see administrative problems. First, you'll have to get special permission to take classes at the undergrad level. That's usually fine for a single upper level undergrad course in something you are interested in. Languages tend to be viewed favorably (more-so in the past, indeed many programs required a kind of minor in a foreign language), I can't see why a class in comp science couldn't be argued to be a kind of language.